Rotary recognizes 16 outstanding West Shore Career-Tech students

The Rotary Club of Lakewood and Rocky River honored 16 West Shore Career-Technical District Outstanding Student Award recipients at its March 4 luncheon.

West Shore Career-Technical District Outstanding Student Award recipients were honored by the Rotary Club of Lakewood and Rocky River at its luncheon on March 4 at the Don Umerley Civic Center.

The 16 students, top performers in their Career-Technical programs, were chosen for their exemplary accomplishments in the classroom, school activities, clubs, athletics and service in the community. Each student exemplifies traits of leadership, dedication, responsibility, caring, community involvement and initiative.

“The Rotary Outstanding Students represent the 'best of the best' in the West Shore Career Technical District. Our teachers and staff work tirelessly to give all of our students rich academic, technical and real world experiences,” remarked Bill DiMascio, West Shore Career-Technical District educational coordinator.

“These students have taken full advantage of the opportunities afforded to them. No matter what path they chose to follow for future success, we know they possess the relevant knowledge and skills to achieve to their fullest potential.”

School administrators, parents and guests were among those in attendance. According to Rotarian Nancy Ralls, West Shore Career-Technical District career development coordinator, this is the 21st year the club has honored the Outstanding Student Award winners.

The Rotary club will present each student with a gift card and a plaque to honor their achievements at West Shore’s annual Career Passport and Student Recognition Assembly on May 16. Each award recipient is automatically nominated to receive the “Career-Technical Student of the Year Award” which will be announced at West Shore’s Career Passport and Student Recognition Assembly.

West Shore districts are Bay Village, Lakewood, Rocky River and Westlake. This year West Shore is serving 480 students in its workforce development programs.

The 2018-19 Outstanding Student Award recipients are: Gabe Saad, automotive technology; Saif Ali, business management; Alisa Cole, community-based training at GFS; Ryan Dempsey, community-based training at the Marriott; Ellie Gentzel, community-based training at Rae Ann; Ku Hsee, construction trades; Megan Meese, culinary arts; Vanessa Setta, early childhood education; James Iler, electronic technology; Reilly Zender, health careers technology; Seth Marroquin, media art and design; Lily Mansell, medical office management; Bryce Mitchell, networking/Cisco; Alex Shell, engineering/Project Lead the Way; Solana Petrone, theatre arts.

Read More on Schools
Volume 11, Issue 6, Posted 10:11 AM, 03.19.2019