Bay Village Schools honors board members

Bay High School senior James Bish, far right at microphone, reads Gov. Mike DeWine’s Proclamation for January being School Board Recognition Month to the Bay Village Board of Education. Left to right: President Lisa Priemer, Interim Treasurer John Scott and Superintendent Jodie Hausmann.   

January is School Board Recognition Month, and at the Jan. 11 Bay Village Board of Education meeting, the district honored its five board members: President Lisa Priemer, Vice President Dave Vegh, and members Beth Lally, Scott Schulz and Paul Vincent. Bay High School senior James Bish, representing the Bay Village Schools’ student body, read Gov. Mike DeWine’s Proclamation for School Board Recognition Month. James also shared his personal gratitude for the board members’ service.

"Although I am not as fancy as the governor, on behalf of the Bay student body, I would also like to extend my appreciation to the school board for the hard and often thankless work they do, keeping us safe, happy and learning," said James.

The theme for the 2021 School Board Recognition Month is “Planting Seeds of Success,” as shared by the Ohio Department of Education.

During the Jan. 11 Organizational Board meeting, which preceded the Regular Board Meeting, current Board President Lisa Priemer and Vice President Dave Vegh were both nominated to retain their same roles for 2021. The votes were unanimous for both positions.

Karen Uthe Semancik

Karen Uthe Semancik is the communications director for Bay Village Schools.

Read More on Schools
Volume 13, Issue 2, Posted 9:59 AM, 01.19.2021