College Club West awards scholarships

College Club West scholarship recipients, from left: Silvia Laboy, Ramona Jasmine Smith, Markisha Monique Robinson, Julie Brown, Sharie Nicole Bailey and Katherine Ann Pollard.

College Club West recently awarded $2,500 scholarships to six extraordinary young women: Silvia Laboy (who will attend Baldwin Wallace University), Ramona Jasmine Smith (BWU), Markisha Monique Robinson (Cleveland State University), Julie Brown (Kent State University), Sharie Nicole Bailey (CSU), and Katherine Ann Pollard (CSU).

The club awards scholarships every year to women 25 years or older residing in Cuyahoga, Lorain, and Medina counties who are presently enrolled in a degree-granting college program. CCW has been awarding these scholarships since 1972. The awards are based on educational goals, financial need and academic record.

College Club West is a non-profit organization offering diverse interest groups and monthly meetings for the benefit of college-educated women. For more information, visit our website at

Anne Nehoda

Press historian of College Club West

Read More on Higher Education
Volume 8, Issue 12, Posted 9:36 AM, 06.21.2016